Robert N Stephenson Flash Fiction & Short Story Competition Winners

The AHWA is very proud to announce the winners of this year’s Short Story and Flash Fiction competition, for the first time named in honour of Robert N Stephenson to remember him and his excellent efforts with the AHWA.

Firstly, a huge thank you to everyone who made the effort to enter. We received many more entries in both categories this year, in comparison to last year’s competition. To those of you who didn’t get on the winner’s podium, keep trying and never give up. It certainly doesn’t mean your stories are not great, and we’re sure many of them will be published. And there’s always next year!

To this year’s winners.

In the Flash Fiction category, the winner is:

“Mother Always Gets What She Wants” by Tim Hawken

With an honorable mention to:
“Nightingale” by K.S. DeVille

Congratulations to you both.

Our judges said:
“Mother” stands out in terms of style, structure, clarity and overall delivery, as well as being a snapshot of despair.”

In the Short Story category, the winner is:

“The Best Medicine” by Pauline Yates

With an honorable mention to:
“The Favourites” by K.S. DeVille

Congratulations to you both.

Our judges said:
“The Best Medicine had well developed characters, is an emotional and satisfying read, and had an unexpected ending.”

Thank you so much to our six judges for giving up so much of their time, and to AHWA Committee Secretary, Anthony Ferguson, for coordinating the entire contest.